The Minister for Mental Health and Ageing, Mark Butler, has launched Australia’s first National Mental Health Commission.

The Commission is led by the Chair, Professor Allan Fels and eight Commissioners, and will formally meet for the first time on Tuesday January 24 to begin work on Australia’s first National Report Card on Mental Health and Suicide Prevention.

The eight Commissioners are:

  • Mr Peter Bicknell;
  • Ms Jackie Crowe;
  • Dr Pat Dudgeon;
  • Professor Ian Hickie AM;
  • Mr Rob Knowles AO;
  • Ms Janet Meagher AM;
  • Ms Samantha Mostyn; and
  • Professor Ian Webster AO.

The CEO of the Commission is Ms Robyn Kruk AM.

For more information, visit